Eating Like a Cavewoman…Soy and Rice Chex…REALLY WOMAN’S WORLD????!!!


Well, hello everyone! I have an opinion piece for you today. Let’s just get into it, shall we?

I was at the store the other day, waiting in line at the checkout, and I saw a “Woman’s World” magazine. I noticed the cover story said something like “A Diet Better than Atkins or The Zone!” and went on to say you could lose blah blah pounds in blah blah days. So, I thought to myself, “Huh, I wonder what this is about.” When I opened it up to the cover story article, I found something interesting. It started by saying that a lady at the magazine was losing weight rapidly. People asked her what she was doing, and she responded by saying she was “eating like a cavewoman!” At first glance, I was excited by this. I thought, “Wow, awesome! Paleo is making it into Woman’s World! That’s pretty mainstream!” Then, I continued to read. As I perused, I noticed there was a picture of CHEX cereal in the middle of the article. At first I thought it might be a bit about what NOT to consume when one is eating like a cavewoman. It did happen to be next to a picture of soy as well. Of course, my first thoughts about both of these were wrong! The article actually RECOMMENDED eating these non-cavewoman things! Really? I was completely disappointed! How could anyone write that? Who really believes that processed cereal is something our Paleolithic ancestors would have eaten? Oh, yeah, I can see it now:

Paleo woman is walking along, foraging. She suddenly sees the great CHEX CEREAL PLANT! Of course! That’s totally natural! Oh, and this CHEX CEREAL plant is growing right next to that totally paleo soy! She runs over and picks it! NOW, now she will be set for a long time! No food worries there!

WHAT!!!!????!!!! Correct me if I’m wrong, but this is a ridiculous scenario! I just don’t think that Woman’s World worker was eating like a cavewoman if she included processed cereal and soy (unfermented, even) products!

I must tell you all, I did not read the rest of the article in its entirety because I was so disgusted by the suggestion that a cavewoman would eat these things. I also did not want to spend my money on such nonsense…but now I am wishing I would have done so…so I could seriously share some of the ridiculousness with you! Maybe I will go to the store this evening and pick one up, just for that. It goes against what I would normally do, but I think it would be worth it to explore.

Stay tuned for a NEW post on this! I will give you the details then! Until then, enjoy this funny image I designed to represent the image of a cavewoman eating cereal! I just couldn’t help myself!

Have a healthy (non-Chex, non-soy) day!

Rachel

Our Paleolithic ancestors did NOT do this!

 

About alternefit

Rachel Flowers is an advocate for healthy living through education and lifestyle changes. She has a BA in psychology, an MA in teaching and education, an AAS in graphic design, and is pursuing her BS in health and wellness. Rachel is also working toward her FDN certification, a C.H.E.K. certification, and a CFN certification. In her quest to get herself and others around her healthy, Rachel has found that she can use her writing and technical abilities to spread the word regarding whole health and wellness, truths versus fallacies in health, paradigms that should be changed, and history and biochemistry that might help many others become healthier. Those around Rachel have encouraged her to pursue her passions in health and wellness. Throughout the process of creating her own health information and assistance business and blog, Rachel has also been encouraged by the community members. Check her out at her website! http://alternefit.com
This entry was posted in Health and Wellness, Lifestyle, low-carb, Media, Paleo, Primal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Eating Like a Cavewoman…Soy and Rice Chex…REALLY WOMAN’S WORLD????!!!

  1. Charlene says:

    Ha ha..that’s a great cartoon, Rachel! You should totally get that magazine and write a letter to the editor! Let them know what the cavewoman really would have eaten!

  2. alternefit says:

    I mean seriously…who would put those together?! Oh yeah, when I think cavewoman, it must be chex and soy…right?! So odd!

  3. Autumnrose says:

    Was it Woman’s World that had an article about the wonderful Kimkins Diet? There’s a new miracle diet featured on the cover of every issue with a recipe for decadent dessert that includes white flour and sugar.

    • alternefit says:

      I’m not sure…I usually don’t pay attention to them. It just drew my attention because of the relation it gave to Atkins and Zone on the cover. I wish there would be some sort of research that goes into these things…I mean really!

  4. Kate M. says:

    Yikes! I’m not surprised, however. I also have heard from a number of people who claim they’ve “gone paleo” but have no idea what they are talking about, or allow so many “exceptions” to the paleo diet that you and I really wouldn’t recognize it as being paleo, at all. One friend insists that she is paleo. Out to dinner the other night, we’re talking and I ask her how she gets her protein and fat, as she only occasionally eats limited portions of certain seafood. “Soy and beans”, she tells me, as she dives into a cracker-filled crabcake that has been deep-fried in plant oil. I just smiled and continued to chew my exorbitantly priced, grass-fed NY strip.

  5. These people need to go back and revisit their research techniques. I thought that researchers had already proven that the small, grain- and legume-based squares found at archeological sites are merely utilitarian or decorative in nature, not for food. Once ancient peoples determined that the stuff wasn’t edible, they honed their hunter/gatherer techniques and their women started weaving these little baskets out of grain. Whether they were used for inchie swaps with neighboring tribes for for carrying chia seeds across great distances, well, we may never know. But, I just cannot believe that these paleo-re-enactment people would actually try to EAT them!

  6. alternefit says:

    I hear ya’ Kate! While I think Chris Kresser had a great idea with the “paleo template” idea, there are just certain things that are not at all a part of our traditional diets…soy being one of them…obviously, grains another!

    Thanks!

  7. Kim says:

    This is the same magazine that promoted the Kimkins diet and brought it into the mainstream. ‘Nuff said.

  8. Steph says:

    Actually, WW did have an article about the paleo diet quite some time ago. And….if you read the whole article on this it said eat MORE like a cavewoman. I think we all know that cavewomen didn’t eat processed foods! My take on the article would be it gets you started in a somewhat paleo like diet. Eventually they will probably cut out the processed stuff too, once they see how much better it makes them feel!

    • alternefit says:

      Well, Steph, I do hope that is what happens. My point to this blog was that it is ridiculous to suggest rice chex (processed cereal of which Paleo peeps are not interested in pushing or consuming) are good fare for the “cavewoman” diet. I’m not out to get Woman’s World, but I think they should do some fact checking before touting something…regardless of the plan or lifestyle the article is about. I feel it is important to give good advice if that is what your market is…and I just don’t think rice chex are any MORE like a cavewoman than any other processed foods. Thanks for your reply!

  9. Terri says:

    I have been doing the Atkins diet for a few weeks but I really want something that has more fruits in the diet. I saw the WW article and really liked the diet however they did not state what you could Ans couldn’t have so I googled “cavewoman diet” and saw your blog. I’m really glad I did! I have looked at other articles but I can’t find one that tells you exactly what you can and can’t have so I was hoping one of you ladies who seem to really know the diet could lead me to a good website or tell me more about what to avoid! I don’t want to think I’m doing right only to find out I’ve been eating something wrong the whole time! I’ve got the gist of the diet but I’d like a detailed list!

    • alternefit says:

      Hi Terri!

      I’m glad you found my blog too! I am here to help…it is a big part of the reason I do this blog! There are many great places to look for Paleo/Primal/Low-carb advice! Essentially, it is all about eating real, whole foods that are not toxic to the body as processed foods are. I have many posts that can help you if you browse around. If you want to learn more about it, Mark Sisson is a great place to start. His site: marksdailyapple.com, is easy to navigate and generally comes up with posts on a variety of things. I also recommend you check out Robb Wolf and his podcast The Paleo Solution. If you are a parent, Sarah Fragoso and Chrissy Gower have a podcast and blog called Everyday Paleo that focuses on family health. In the low-carb arena, you have some super-stars like Jimmy Moore and Dana Carpender. Check him out at Livinlavidalowcarb.com. That is also the name of his podcast. Dana’s podcast is called Dana’s Low Carb for Life, and her blog is holdthetoast.com. Also, Jimmy Moore and Mindy Noxon Iannotti do a podcast together called Low Carb Conversations with Jimmy Moore and Friends that will help you hear the everyday perspective of Low Carb and Paleo followers. You can find all of these podcasts on iTunes for free! PLEASE, feel free to contact me if you would like more! I have a plethora of them!

    • alternefit says:

      Oh, and one more thing: fruits are whole foods! I believe you need to stick to what you know works best for you. For me, I don’t do bananas (but I know some who do) or apples. I tend to stick to berries of all kinds (blueberries and strawberries being my faves). Figs are coming into season, so I might have a fig here and there…especially considering there are 4 fig trees by my work. I don’t do oranges…they are too sweet and sugary and have too much acid for me…they actually break my tongue out….but again, do some experimentation and find what works for you…do the whole fruit…no juice! The fruit has the fiber…the juice is just junk!

  10. Lisa says:

    I read the article, becuase it did spark my curiosity. Other than the Chex it did have some pretty decent suggestions of how and what to eat. Personally I felt that same, “How can CHEX be good for you?” (although there are FAR worst cereals out there in my opinion) – I’ve never seen it incorporated into a diet. Unfortunately and I don’t agree, there are a LARGE amount of processed foods available to us today and that’s genuinely sad. I’m a teacher and if I could tell you how many severely obese children walk around here and probably with pre-diabetes and/or diabetes, it’d break your heart.
    Personally, I do my best to stay away from processed foods AND keep them away from my son. But I think for a lot of people who might struggle with what 1400 calories and a “fairly” healthy diet might look like, it’s definitely a good start.

    • alternefit says:

      Hi Lisa,

      I have seen the rate of obesity in children and it really does break my heart. I used to drive a school bus, and I live near at least 5 different school zones I must drive through every day…so yes, it is extremely sad. My problem is not with the start the article might give to people, though. My problem is with them taking a legitimate, science-based lifestyle and adding what they want to it in order to sell! It is a shame…a serious shame…that these companies would use a positive correlation to promote negative foods.

Leave a Reply

